Everyone has an opinion.

Even if that opinion is as minuscule as all hell, everyone still has one.  Even their opinion is, “I don’t care.” That’s an opinion!

The only thing that isn’t an opinion?  I don’t know.  Because “I don’t know” means, you don’t have a clue about the subject matter in order to form an opinion about it.

I recently had an incident occur where someone where I was open as I usually am about being homeless with someone and shared my blog with them and they ended up accusing me of taking their spare key just so I could look around their place (I guess because to see how the other half lives or some dumb shit like that).  That was told to me in confidence because none of this was ever said to my face.  It just enraged some people enough that it got back to me (because the original person didn’t have the nerve to say anything to my face.  I bet I lost them at “I’m homeless” and they won’t even bother reading my blog. Oh well, can’t win ‘em all).

I say all this because this one person that I told about my blog, I shared with them that I was a bit self-conscious about how my homeless status would change what they think of me and their response was that they didn’t have an opinion of me to begin with.

I was actually in my feelings about that.  Like, “You didn’t think I was a nice person?  You didn’t think I seemed intelligent?  Or how about annoying?  Stupid?  Something?  Anything?  Just… nothing at all?  Well, damn.”

What kept going through my head was, “Even ‘I couldn’t care less about this person’s existence’ is an opinion I was totally accept.  But nothing at all?  Damn.  That shit hurt my feelings.
And it says more about me than it does about them.  I should care a lot less about what people think of me, especially if they’re not my friend, family or business partner.
#lessonsatthirty

 

