The system is a video game.  It’s designed to be played.  Think about it.
Nintendo Entertainment System.  The best way to figure out how to play this system is through time management.

Like I said in my last post, I’ve heard a ton of complaints about how Bethany’s and N Street Village is a trap.  One woman coined the phrase “Pimps of Poverty”.  It’s pretty catchy.  has a nice ring to it.  But it’s born of the victim mentality.

If you are unemployed and you’re not going to school and you’re in this program, there is absolutely no reason why you can’t get a job or into school or something.

I myself am not unemployed but I know exactly what I would be doing with my time if I wasn’t and I got into this program.  And that’s exactly what I will be spelling out for you here.  An outline of basically what I would be doing to take mad advantage of the system in place here at N Street Village.

[Please not that this only applies to able bodied unemployed people]

A hot breakfast is served at Bethany’s from 8:00am to 9:00am.  The have computer lab from 9:30am to 10:15am.  Two different time slots each lasting 45 minutes.
If you miss out, it’s not the end of the world.  Just go to a different activity.  Then put your name on the absent lunch list and head to MLK Library.

That’s where you get your happy ass on the computer and start looking for a job.  Or looking into schools or financial aid or what have you.  Something other than playing around on social media.  Something constructive.  Anything that puts you closer towards independence and self-sufficiency.

Lunch at Bethany’s is 12:00pm to 1:00pm.  Considering the library is on 9th and G and N Street Village is a bit of a jaunt away for most people, it’s a good thing you signed up for the absent lunch because you probably won’t even get out of the library until at least 1:00-30pm anyway.  Especially if you’ve taken a lot of notes or printed anything to read later.

So, you get back around 2:00-30pm and you get your lunch that’s been set aside for you while you go over your notes and do whatever it is you feel like doing until the place closes at 4:00pm.  The good thing is that they also serve snacks from 3:15pm-3:30pm.  So, you’ve got something to take with you or to top you off if the lunch wasn’t enough.

For example, let’s say you’re in the same shelter that I’m in.  You have until 7:00pm to check in.  So, I’d head straight over there from Bethany’s when they close or even right after you get your snack. [By the way, I highly recommend getting the snack even if you don’t think you’ll eat it any time soon.]

And there you have it.  A full, productive day where you’ve met the program’s requirements and did what you needed to do for you.  Now was that so bad?

There are places that are just out to make money.  Like the family shelter I used to stay in before our family got torn apart.  They did almost nothing for their clients.  I just don’t know what it is they called themselves doing.  But as I learn more, there will be more articles to share more tips on how to break the cycle of homelessness for good.

