This is the kind of thing I have in my news feed on facebook.  It’s my motivation.

image

What I like about this particular picture of Erin Stern is that she’s using the Wonder Woman outfit.  Why I like it?  Because realistically, this is the kind of muscle definition Wonder Woman would have in real life.

image

[Andreia Brazier]

You don’t train with those heavy swords, spears, shields and arrows and whatnot without building a ton of definition and strength. And that’s aside from the superhuman strength she possess.  If her body behaves like a human’s body (she eats, she sleeps, she goes to the bathroom…) then the muscles would come with that.
I love it.  I just wish Hollywood could understand they need to pick actresses who look physically strong to play her.
Even in the comics, I’ve seen her with a six pack.  What makes Wonder Woman so awesome is that she has a body that is achievable.  And what I love about Erin Stern is that she demonstrates that.
And she is by far not the only strong-bodied woman I follow nor that is even out there.  I’m just using her as an example because of the Wonder Woman picture.

image

[Sophia Thiel]

Now, I’m about to take over my son’s room like I did before by cleaning it and organizing it to be my at-home workout space.  He loved it when I did that before.  We ended up playing A LOT and I felt so much closer to him.
And I might as well do it now before he gets old enough to want his own space.
I want so badly to be strong bodied and healthy.  And seeing these women in my facebook news feed really inspires me.  I can’t look at them or their motivating posts or advice or anything without feeling the urge to get up and do something about it.

image

[Narmin Assria]

Don’t me wrong, I’ve finally achieved real love and appreciation for my body as it is.  My desire isn’t to “look like them” or achieve someone else’s standard of the “perfect” body.

image

[Narmin Assria again]

I have just always wanted to know what it feels like to have energy.  To have stamina and strength.  To not be constantly tired or sluggish.  To maintain a steady body temperature even!

image

[Sophia Thiel again]

I want to feel confident that if I ever had to run away to save myself or carry my kids to safety, I could.
I knew this feeling once.  When I got out of Air Force boot camp.  But the fact that they sent me home and wouldn’t let me graduate, sent me into a deep depression and I didn’t want to be bothered with taking care of myself, let alone living(of course there was a lot more factors that added to that).  And I let myself go.  I don’t want to feel like this anymore.  I hate it.
I hate depression.  Depression wants me to kill myself.  But I don’t.  I want to live.  I want to have fun.  I want to be happy, damnit!
There’s a saying that I came up with for my husband that I’ve observed being around him; “The sky is blue, the grass is green and Jacques gets what he wants.”
In other words, it’s just a simple fact of life that he will get what he wants.  There’s nothing you a do to change it.  The grass will always be green even if it doesn’t look green in certain light.  The sky is blue even if it takes on different hues in the morning and evening.  And no matter how it seems in the moment, in the end Jacques will always get what he wants.
I’ve decided to start applying that to myself.  I mean, I’ve seen the massive boost to his confidence it gave him.  So, why can’t it just be a fact that Jacqueline gets what she wants?  I’m just as deserving of happiness as he is.  Or anyone else for that matter.

The sky is blue, the grass is green and Jacqueline gets what she wants.

And what I want is to be happy and healthy and strong.
And the same goes for you, my friend.

The sky is blue, the grass is green and YOU get what you want.

