I can’t believe I actually have a few minutes to update y’all on this week’s craziness.
Starting with Jem’s crazy birth story.  Apparently I was in active labor all night but I thought it was false labor.  It had all the symptoms of false labor; contractions that were inconsistent (they’d go from 8 minutes apart to 12 minutes apart to 30 minutes apart to 2 minutes apart and all over the place), at first they were only happening when I was lying down and would go away once I sat or stood up, and finally, it got to the point where walking around helped alleviate he pain.
Jacques couldn’t take watching me in so much pain, so he left for a walk around 6:00 in the morning.  And I called our BFF Kimmie because I really didn’t want to be alone it the pain.  She was getting ready for work at the time so she couldn’t talk long.  But the pain went away again and I was able to lie down.  So, I said I was going to sleep and I’ll talk to her later.  I was also texting Jacques’ mom telling her about the pain and how maybe I’d go into the hospital later that day.
Then around 6:40, the pain came back with a vengeance.  And I called 911 and then called Jacques’ mom.
By now I was screaming bloody murder.  It hurt so bad.  She was on her way.  The paramedics got to the door and said it was locked but I couldn’t move to get to the door.  I couldn’t even stand up because I was in the middle of another contraction.  Turned out I should’ve just told them the door sticks so bad it feels like it’s locked.  But they figured it out.
Unfortunately I was only in a bra and panties and it seemed like they sent the entirety of an all male fire and rescue unit.  Like a whole troop.
My first words were, “My son!  He’s sleeping in his crib!”  because he surprisingly slept right through all the blood curdling screams I was letting out and I didn’t want them to take me to the hospital and leave him home alone.  That’s when my water broke.  All over the couch.
On the way out, I called a friend of Jacques’ because I knew he’d get the message to him somehow since Jacques’ phone wasn’t coming back on until the first.
They got me down the three stories quicker than it felt.  All I knew was I was terrified.  I was sure I was going to die and that thought scared me more than anything else.  I didn’t want to die in front of my son.  And I certainly didn’t want to die without seeing my beautiful Jem.  Oh god and without my husband?  I couldn’t let him leave all aggrevated and that be the last time he saw me.
I already scared him by flatlining on the table during Jiraiya’s c-section and bottoming out on our porch 6 months later.  I just couldn’t go out like that.  He couldn’t handle it.  He’d lose his mind and all ability to live.  Same as I would were the situations reversed.  (And I’m not making an assumption either.  We’ve both voiced our feelings about this particular subject after those two scares when he thought he’d lost me.)
So, I screamed and kept shouting “NO!!!” every time another contraction started again.  I don’t know who I was screaming at.  I just didn’t know anything better to say to my fear of dying unfulfilled and leaving my family in need.  I dunno, I was just wild.  Like a half starved wolf caught in a bear trap.  They strapped me down to the stretcher in the ambulance but I pulled my arms and legs out anyway.  All I could do was keep bracing my hands and feet against the walls. (Picture Spiderman hiding up in the corner of the ceiling. Yeah, that was me only I have no idea what I was hoping to accomplish with that. Being strapped down or held down in anyway against my will sends me right into madness and that’s without the added panic of unforseen childbirth).
We barely made it to the hospital.  She was almost born right there in the ambulance.  Jiraiya was such a good boy during the whole process.  He had no idea what was going on but he didn’t cry.  Just stared.
We got to the ER and they barely got me into a room.  That’s when she crowned.  Or something.  I’m really not sure.  A doctor swung by and popped something.  I’m not well versed in this whole childbirth thing.  Anyway, next minute, Jem was here and crying such a soft, little cry.  And I was so delirious from the whole thing that I just kept saying “My baby?  That’s my baby?”  And “She’s okay?”
I remember a Dr. Friday congratulating me on a successful VBAC and I remember thinking in my head, “Thank god it’s Friday.” but I said it was nice to meet her.  I don’t remember if I thanked her.  I wish I knew who to write to.  I want to right thank you notes to all the paramedics and the ER staff (Yes the whole staff because it seemed like that’s how many people I was surrounded by and I didn’t get any body’s name but Dr. Friday). 
I my CSW came to the hospital to see me.  And she brought diapers.  A whole case of them.  ♡
I am just so overcome with gratitude that I lived through that.
And what’s funny is that I no longer hate Jacques.  I’m not nearly as explosively angry at him as I was while I was pregnant.  Every little thing he does doesn’t make me want to kill him anymore.  Hormones are a real bitch.
Now, since it’s taken me the last five days to write this, I’ve got more to catch y’all up on in another post.
In the meantime I leave you with these adorable photos of Jem. ♡

image

image

image

