I am sick as a dog and I caught it from my son.
He of course is doing a lot better than I am.  That’s because he’s on a healthy diet and he gets plenty of exercise everyday.  Me on the other hand, not so much.  But at least being sick like this has a positive side to it.
This has made me more aware of my body and health.  I’m choosing healthier foods to eat.  I’m taking vitamins and keeping my fluids up.

What is it about people that a lot of us only start thinking about our health when we get sick?  I just don’t get it.  Why do we just go along neglecting our bodies until we get hit by a cold or flu or a devastating diagnosis?  Or when we have a hangover?  Hell, I can’t count the number of times I became a straight up health nut the day after a night of partying.  In fact, I’ve notice most people who follow that pattern don’t stick to their new healthy habits.  I myself can only think of two examples; a facebook friend and Kristina Carrillo-Bucaram of Rawfully Organic.  Both of these people went completely vegan due to health issues and got better.  And stuck to it.  I don’t ever plan on going vegan because I just don’t want to.  I barely eat meat anyway and I’ve been lactose intolerant since half way through my pregnancy.  But I still like to eat a little bit of meat every now and then.  My main problem is skipping meals.
While we were in Tulsa, things were bad and stayed bad all the time.  So, food wasn’t something that could be counted on being around all the time.  And we couldn’t always guarantee when we could replace it when it ran out.  After the Bear was born, I was more concerned about him getting enough to eat, so we would spend most of our money on making sure he had plenty to eat.  So, I got used to going without eating for a couple days at a time for fear of running out of food for myself or for Mr. J.
But we finally got food stamps and got away from the people who were literally stealing our food and I haven’t had to worry about food for a couple months now.  But some habits are hard to break.

That’s why I’m as sick as I am now.  My body is weak from not getting the right nutrition for a long time.  Well, what did I say in my last post?  No excuses, right?  This is my chance.  I can get and stay healthy as long as I’m determined.  I just need to hold onto this determination.  Keep caring about myself.  And remember that I can’t take care of the Bear if I don’t take care of myself.  Also, if I don’t set a good example, he could develop unhealthy habits of his own.  And I really, really don’t want that for him.

Well, I hope you join me on my journey to better health.  And don’t feel ashamed of any of your unhealthy habits, no matter what they are.  If you only care about the decision to get healthy, then so do I.  You’re not alone.  I’m here for you.  We can do this together.

