So, as you know, I was pregnant and in case you missed the big announcement on my Facebook page, I gave birth December 30th.  At 7:37am Jiraiya Bear Santee was born by emergency c-section and proceeded to take over my entire life.  Since he was born, I have thought A LOT about money and realized just how much I actually love money and how badly I want to be rich.

Of course, I can’t guess what you’re thinking about that but I’m guessing some of the words that are coming to mind might be “shallow” “superficial” “materialistic” just to start.  But rest assured, my love of money is just one side of a double-edged sword.  On one side I hate money because of how many people in the world are suffering merely because they don’t have enough of it while there are those who have more than they could ever spend in theirs or their children’s lifetime.  On the other side, I love having money.  I love the thought of living comfortably and have nice things without constant financial worries on my mind.  But most of all, I love the thought of being able to say to a person in need, “You hungry? I got you.” “Lights about to be cut off?  I got it covered.” “Kids need new clothes?  No problem.” “No money for the kids’ christmas presents?  I’m on it.”  I have a dream of being in line at the grocery store and the person in front of me counting pennies and debatig what to put back and what to buy and me stepping up and telling the cashier to put everything back on thebelt and ring them  up and then paying for it.  And what’s more, I love the idea of being able to do things like that without putting me and my family in dire straits.  Because I’ve been there more times than I’d like to remember.

With this in mind, I took one small step toward this kind of life by starting a certificate account for Jiraiya’s birthday this year.  And this may not seem like a big deal but hear me out.  When you have a certificate account, you can either keep adding money to it or just let the money sit there until it matures depending on what kind you have.  Either way, once it matures, your money will have grown.  And when I thought about this, I came up with an idea.  Why not take some of that matured money and put it into another certificate account?  And just continue to grow and split and grow and split my money every year?  To me, it’s hard for me to describe what I mean without the right words but don’t worry about that right now.  I’ll just keep you informed of how my theory pans out for me.  For now, I’ll let you in on a little secret: I have a really good feeling about this.

In the meantime, there are a lot of different things I can do to cut my living expenses that I wish I had known about before.  Some of them are so not for everyone and the rest are pretty basic.

For example, I’ve been watching the show Extreme Cheapskates on Netflix and while I’m totally grossed out by some of the things these people do, there are some tactics, I thought were pretty nifty.

Like peeing in a bottle instead of the toilet.  Wow.  That’s something I’ve only thought about doing when I’m on a long road trip and have an emergency or locked out of the bathroom and I’m seconds away from needing needing lto change my clothes.  But it turns out there’s a good use for it that’s both earth- and budget-friendly.  And that is; plant food.  Apparently, our urine can act as some awesome food for plants.  And as we know, plants are a great way to clean the air in our homes without spending hundreds on an air purifier that needs to be cleaned every several days or filters that need to be bought.  That’s not including the cost of the energy to run them.  So, that’s a good way to also save money on growing a strong, healthy garden.  So, when I get around to finally starting one, I’ll let you know how that works out.  And if you’re thinking of starting your own organic garden, one of the resources I used was a TEDxTALK about sustainable farming.  I’ll share a link at the end of this post.

Then there’s a few practical things I could do like using a ball of tin foil in the dryer instead of dryer sheets.  It reduces static without the use of chemicals we don’t know for sure are safe to breathe.  And putting unused slivers of bar soap in a pair of panty hose as a ghetto rigged soap on a rope.  And buying my clothes (minus undies) at thrift stores.  And then there’s a TON of tips to be found on The Krazy Coupon Lady’s website.  That link is at the bottom too.  If you’re wondering what that siteis all about, just think of the TLC show, Extreme Couponing.  That’s the zort of money saving you can achieve with the tips she has to offer.  Or so she claims.  I’m about to find out for myself.  I’ll keep you updated on how that goes as soon as I start doing it.

Then there’s some cheapskate moves I do that are, while not illegal, are somewhat frowned upon.  Like grabbing tons of npkins, straws, condiments, utensils and paper towel fromgas statiojs and fast food places.  Yes, I know, it’s ghetto, but hey, I rarely spend my money on that kind of garbage and I like to feel like I’ve gotten my money’s worth.

So, my question for all of you is a two-parter: How do you feel about money and what tactics and life hacks do you use to spend less?  Let me know in the comment section.   And those of you who actively coupon, I’d love to hear from you about how you do it and how it works for you. Who knows?  we could all end up teaching each other. ^-^

Krazy Coupon Lady
TEDxTalk

