This week to make myself feel fabulous, I’ve decided I’m 16.  I put on my makeup and my “cute” clothes even though I’m not going anywhere.  I spent extra time in the shower, like I did when I was a teenager.  I have to say, I feel absolutely fabulous.
Even my Puddin’ noticed the change in my attitude, my energy.  I feel so young and sexy.

This got me thinking.  Why is it that as we get older, we tend to act older.  It’s like we just assume that just because we’re older, it means we have to slow down, or get more tired.  I remember getting angry when I was a kid being told that when I get older, I’d get more tired just because I’m older.  I always fought against the mentality that aging had to be equivalent to getting worse.  Who in the world made that a rule?  I think we should always strive to be better than we were the day before.

I am sixteen until further notice.  Try it!  I think you’ll feel way better than you did the day before.  Just tell yourself that you are young and full of energy.  Why?  Because you are.  I’m convinced that we only feel tired as we get older because that’s what society continues to tell us.  I was feeling tired all week this week.  Wondering where all my energy went.  Then today, when I made the decision to pretend I’m younger,  Of course, not in mind.  But in body.

I know it sounds crazy.  But trust me.  I’m hoping we’ve all seen that 91 year old woman on the new GNC commercials.  She’s strong as I don’t know what.  And not just for a woman her age.  Just period.  Some of the yoga moves, she can do, I know I can’t do yet.  So age has nothing to do with it.

So, try imagining yourself younger and more vibrant.  You’ll feel a little more fabulous each day.

