Suck it up 1

Life in this world is full of people and things that would love nothing more than to steal your joy from you.  They don’t always come all at once to steal your joy, but they will come.

I just got a job at Burger King and the water has been turned back on and just those two things alone lifted so much weight from my shoulders.  But of course, that means a lot has also been added as well.

Today I felt overwhelmed with all of my responsibilities.  Not so much because they’re too hard for me to handle but because I don’t have nearly as much help as I would like to have living with two able-bodied adults.
I’m the cook, the maid, the caregiver, the cheerleader, the accounts manager, the pet sitter, the motivational speaker, the public relations department, themediator, the negotiator, etc. etc. etc.
It’s basically up to me to keep our household running and not fall apart.  It gets tiring at times.

It’s not that Mr. J and our roommate are too lazy to do their part.  It’s because they keep allowing all the stress from all of their struggles and negative people to steal their joy and with it, their will to get up and fight to get it back.

I won’t lie and say I’m not suseptible to the same thing.  I find it very hard to hold onto my joy and keep the depression at bay.  But I’ve found that just by choosing to be happy and light-hearted for myself, it helps those around me a lot more than even I realize.

I noticed that when depression slips in on me and I give up, so do so many around me.  I know that sounds megalomanical but stay with me.  You see, I know I’m not the only person who has this happen.  We all are being watched by someone.  The way we live our lives is always going to be admired, envied or judged by other people.  You don’t have to be a celebrity to live under the microscope of the public eye.
I’ve been told by people I never expected, that I inspire them.  In turn, I’ve told people who how they’ve inspired me only to have them react with the same kind of surprise.
When people see others happy and motivated, it automatically tiggers inspiration, motivation and happiness.  Of course, I can’t speak for the haters.  I would never want to.  I don’t address nor do I represent haters.

So, if you’re feeling bogged down by all of life’s pressures and responsibilities, just remember how incredibly important you are that if you handle a negative situation in a positive way, it will be a source of inspiration to others even if you don’t see it.

If you think about it, you’ll know it’s true.  Have you ever found yourself around a bunch of grumpy gusses?  Always whining and complaing about their lives, or other people.  Didn’t they get on your last nerve?  If they came over to your house on a good day, don’t you feel a big difference in the atmosphere of your home after they’ve left?
Don’t be that guy.  I don’t care what you’ve got going on in your life, if you don’t like being around that guy, then don’t be that guy.

People are more likely to be supportive if they see you trying to keep your head up.  when they see you giving  in and becoming a total grouch, they tend to feel like there’s no point in even trying to cheer you up or be supportive.  This is because you look like you’ve already given up and made up your mind to let your circumstances.

Don’t believe me?  Have you ever had a freind that would always call you when they were upset about something, no matter how big or little?  they’d call you or come over to your house and make it your job to cheer them up since they can’t seem to do it themselves.  And it always seems to be about every little thing that upsets them? “I  had a fight with my mom! (again)” or “this bitch I don’t even know said mean things about me on facebook!” or “he-said-she-said-they-said and now I’m mad!”
At first, you have all the sympathy in the world for them and you’re willing to listen to them and be their sounding board and they’re shoulder to cry on.  But after awhile, it gets old.  It seems like that’s all they ever talk about is what makes them upset.  You start to lose your concern for whether or not they’re upset because they always are and eventually, the feelings of wanting to help and be there for them begin to fade.

It’s the same for everyone.  No one without the influence of lots of drugs is willing to be another person’s security blanket.  Even incessant enablers don’t really want to be that way.

This isn’t to sya that you aren’t allowed to have bad days where you need to vent every now and then.  But like it says in the awesome picture I posted at the top of this article says, “What you do every day matters more than what you do every once in awhile.”
So, this week, let’s just get over ourselves and how we feel about our lives and think focus on how we can help others simply by being positive while weathering the storm.

