Have you ever noticed how magazines and fashion shows are always telling us what is or isn’t hot before we can decide on our own what is?
Like, for example, over the last month and a half of summer, I couldn’t get online or open a magazine without some sort of ad, blogger, fashion expert, stylist or what have you telling me what’s “hot” or “trendy” this fall.

Wait a minute… This fall?  Fall isn’t even here.  How do they know what everyone’s into a season ahead?  The truth is, they don’t.  Period.  They are plain and simply telling us what we like.  Or what we should like.  Doesn’t matter.  I personally am against all forms of manipulation.

Still don’t believe me?
The definition of trendy is “of, in, or pertaining to the latest trend or style.”
And a trend is what is considered “in” by being popular.  Sometimes trends start off as fads.  But no matter how you look at it, a trend cannot be called a trend until it becomes popular.

So, there we have it.  The fashion industry tells us what we like and what we think based on… well, I’m guessing either their own opinions and a majority vote amongst a small group of people or statistics.  Either way, it’s kinda screwed up in my humble opinion.  I like what I like when I like it.  And trends be damned.  I’ll believe something is “trendy” or popular when I walk out of my front door and see everyone at the mall wearing the same thing.

The moral of this pee-wee rant is to be yourself.  Do your own thing.  And don’t let anyone tell you what you should or shouldn’t wear (unless you look absolutely ridiculous by any self-respecting person’s standards. in that case, this person is being a good friend to you by helping you not make a spectacle of yourself).

